JORDAN Thompson has already made an impact for Yorkshire in the shorter forms of the game.

For example, he has scored a half-century and taken 3-23 in T20 matches, but now the Yeadon-born 23-year-old wants to make more of an impact in the four-day game.

Thompson, who was guest speaker at the Dales Council League's prize presentation at the Midland Hotel in Bradford, expressed a liking for hitting the ball out of the park - not surprising given his experience in T20 cricket, where he has represented the White Rose 18 times.

However, Thompson, who recently signed a two-year contract extension with Yorkshire that takes him to the end of the 2021 season, admitted: "I haven't found it more difficult to adapt to red-ball cricket with the bat.

"But I get to 30 or 40 off 30 or 40 balls and then get out when I need to get to hundreds."

Adaptability is a key requirement for a modern-day cricketer as they could be playing in the Hundred on a Friday night next season and a four-day County Championship fixture on a Sunday.

The former Benton Park School pupil only made his first-class debut for Yorkshire in June against Surrey at Guildford.

That put him up against ex-South African pace ace Morne Morkel, and the left-handed Pudsey St Lawrence all-rounder said: "He has lost a bit of pace, which was quite a good thing for me.

"I edged him for four and next ball he tried to bounce me and I edged him to fine leg."

Progressing in sport inevitably involves stepping up in grades - such as from district junior teams to Yorkshire juniors, from Yorkshire juniors to the Academy, from the Academy to the second team and from the second team to the first team.

He admitted: "The jump to the first team is the biggest step up of them all but even playing for the second team you can meet England players who are on the way back from injury, such as Mark Wood at Durham."

Former Guiseley junior Thompson, who attended the Dales Council League function despite suffering from a virus, also reflected on his 12th man duties for England at Headingley.

He said: "I have been 12th man for England four years in a row times and it was OK running drinks on for the team - but I was pleased to get out of it this year."

Crompark's Phil Cooper won the Geoff Cope Trophy - named in honour of the Dales Council League president - while the sportsmanship trophies went to St Chads Broomfield (Umpires' Association) and Muff Field B (Les Bulmer Trophy).

Pudsey St Lawrence collected four trophies from their club-mate Thompson, with two going to Joshua Allinson (junior bowling and the Les Thompson Young Player of the Year).

Others from Tofts Road to collect awards were Duncan Butler (B Division batting) and Ricky Priestley (junior all-rounder).

Thornbury lifted three pieces of silverware - the A Division all-rounder trophy for Yassir Javed and the Judy Griffiths Memorial junior fielding trophy that was shared between clubmates Mohammed Fehzan and Mohammed Awais Khan, each with three points.

Interlink and One Stop each bagged two trophies, with Interlink's Irfan Jamadar winning the C Division batting award and Mohammed Memi the Stan Stafford Memorial Trophy for most runs.

One Stop's winners were Kashif Ashraf (B Division bowling) and Rafaqat Mehmood (fastest 50), while Shipley Providence's Elangovan Balakrishnan won two awards - the C Division trophies for batting and all-rounders.

A total of £350 was raised by a raffle on the night and a donation from the league that will be split equally between Marie Curie and Yorkshire Cancer Research.

Award winners - A Division, batting: Matthew Waller (Drighlington); bowling: Zia Butt (Woodhouse); all-rounder: Yassir Javed (Thornbury). B Division, batting: Duncan Butler (Pudsey St Lawrence); bowling: Kashif Ashraf (One Stop); all-rounder: Kanhu Charan Pattnayak (Adel). C Division, batting: Irfan Jamadar (Interlink); bowling: Elangovan Balakrishnan (Shipley Providence); all-rounder: Elangovan Balakrishnan.

Stan Stafford Memorial Trophy (most runs): Mohammed Memi (Interlink). Joe Raistrick Memorial Trophy (most wickets): Muhammad Faisal (Woodhouse). Fastest 50: Rafaqat Mehmood (One Stop).

Fielding - Gordon Hay Memorial Trophy (senior): Simon Hogan (Tong Park Esholt). Judy Griffiths Memorial Trophy (junior): Mohammed Fehzan (Thornbury), Mohammed Awais Khan (Thornbury) (shared).

Wicket-keeping - Roy Webster Memorial Trophy (seniors): Hamza Raja (Woodhouse). Roy Webster Memorial Shield: Adam Dean (Baildon).

Juniors - batting: Jay Turnbull (Pudsey Congs); bowling: Joshua Allinson (Pudsey St Lawrence); all-rounder: Ricky Priestley (Pudsey St Lawrence). Les Thompson Young Player of the Year: Joshua Allinson (Pudsey St Lawrence).

Umpires' Association Sportsmanship Trophy (first teams): St Chads Broomfield. Les Bulmer Trophy (seocnd teams): Muff Field B. John Morgan Yorkshire Evening Post Umpires' Award: Michael Edwards. Geoff Cope Trophy: Phil Cooper (Crompark).

Divisional winners - Jack Shuttleworth Cup (A Division): Woodhouse. William Hill Trophy (B Division): One Stop. John Collins Trophy (C Division): Interlink. Steve Raistrick Memorial Trophy (highest-placed B team): Thornbury B.

Cup winners - Pool Paper Mills Cup: Leeds Sikh. Cawthorne Cup: Thornbury B. Twenty20: Halifax Direct.