ILKLEY Cricket Club celebrated their most successful season in 50 years at the club's annual presentation night held at Ilkley RFC.

The evening started on a high note with Under-15 captain Tommy Dover presenting his team’s individual and collective highlights – the team winning two league titles last achieved in 2003. His entertaining speech was laced with great humour and when appropriate, gravitas.

He was followed by a double act of the two Joe’s – Varley and McTigue, praising the efforts of the third team and particularly extolling the contributions made by the many juniors making their debuts in senior league cricket.

Second team captain Andrew Wheeler made his contribution in rhyme to highlight the fantastic triumph with his team gaining promotion to Division Three when in 2020 they will be playing a high number of other club’s first teams.

The evening concluded with acting first team captain, Henry Wilson, summarising the values of club cricket – healthy but fair competition, the support given to and provided by players themselves, the invaluable contribution by volunteers and the support given by parents and friends of the club.

The evening was hosted and organised by Terry Pattinson.

Individual winners were:

Under-15s: Batting - Tommy Dover, Bowling - Louis Carter and Most Improved Player - Jake Thompson.

Third team: Batting - Andy Walsh, Bowling - Jake Ross (Under-15) and Fielding - all Under-15s.

Second team: Batting - Terry Pattinson, Bowling - Robert Wheeler and Fielding - James Pearson.

First team: Batting - Dave Pennett, Bowling - Paul Dover and Fielding - William Spivey.

The evening concluded with brothers Isaac and Woodie Luffman being presented the Junior Clubman of the Year trophy by chairman Nic Fearnley.