BURLEY-in-Wharfedale CC lifted the Waddilove Cup for the tenth time when they beat North Leeds by 19 runs.

The match, which was played at North Leeds home ground, saw Burley put in a complete team performance to secure victory.

Burley captain Jason Wright chose to bat on a good wicket that played well despite all the rain that has fallen over the last few weeks.

Despite losing two early wickets to Farhan Khan (3-39), opener Nick Brook stuck to the task and scored 52 off 86 balls.

He shared a third-wicket partnership of 58 with Nicky Bulcock (24).

After Brook too was bowled by Khan, Wright played a captain's innings, hitting 10 fours and five sixes off 55 balls on his way to a top score of 87.

He shared a magnificent fifth-wicket stand of 129 with Redmond Bolton, who hit seven fours and four sixes and finished on 72 not out as Burley scored 260-5 in 45 overs.

In reply, North Leeds got off to a slow start as opening bowler Sam Fox took 2-33 and fellow opener Brook only went for 22 runs in his nine overs.

North Leeds recovered as Taran Chana (79) and Khan (41) batted well and had a third-wicket partnership of 63, but Burley kept up the pressure and shared the wickets around, with Wright taking 3-41 and James Mukherjee taking 2-48.

Wright said: "It's good to bat first because it's easier to get runs on the board. We scored some big runs, then they got off to a slow start and we took a couple of key wickets at the end.

"It's first time I've won it as captain, and it was a pretty good feeling to lift the trophy," added Wright, an Australian who has played at Burley-in-Wharfedale for eight years. "Now we hope to replicate our Sunday form on a Saturday and finish the season strong."

Malcolm Wadsworth, president of Burley-in-Wharfedale CC, said: "It's the tenth time we've won the Waddilove Cup. We're delighted because although we've not had a consistent season, we knew we were in with a chance of winning it when we knocked Otley out."

* All Aire-Wharfe League games were rained off last Saturday, apart from one as Beckwithshaw (235-8) won by nine runs at Colton Institute (226 all out).