FOR the second consecutive year Otley Golf Club staged a qualifying competition for the European Junior Open, the final of which will be held in Spain towards the end of the year.

Now in its 27th year, the competition has previously heralded the start of some great careers including those of Justin Rose, Luke Donald and Nick Dougherty.

The finals of the competition are now covered by Sky Sports and hosted by David Livingstone and Dougherty and like last year, they will be assisted by the new junior ambassador for the north of England – former junior captain, Alex Harm.

The event at Otley went well and congratulations to Harm and Alex Calder Jnr who both qualified for the finals at the Alcaidesa Link Resort in Cadiz in November.

The organisers were once again delighted with everything that Otley had to offer and discussions are under way into enlarging next year’s qualifying competition into a club junior day.

Meanwhile, Otley GC's Medal competition was played in conjunction with the St Dunstan’s Cup.

It will be the name of Ron Oxtoby that will be engraved on to the cup. He had a quite superb nett 61 to win the third division of the Medal.

Results: Div One: Alex Harm (2) 65; I Dawson (10) 68; J Halstead (8) 69; Div Two: C Archer (18) 68; A Padden (14) 69; J Grimmitt (13) 70; Div Three: R Oxtoby (20) 61; M Spencer (20) 69; C Leak (20) 70.

The ladies stableford was played in conjunction with the Final Stableford and it is the names of Linda Barker, Joyce Thorpe and Jill Jex that will be engraved on to the honours board.

This follows their respective wins in the Silver, Bronze and Copper Divisions of the Final Stableford. Results of the Club Stableford were: Div One: J Ettenfield 34 points; J Howson 33; L Barker 32; Div Two: J Monkman 34 points; M Parker 33; S Fordham 31; Div Three: J Thorpe 39 points; C Lamb 37; G Pinkney 34; Div Four: J Jex 36.

Pam Joule won the nine-hole competition with 11 points after a countback with Pat Pick.

Mel Morgan-Davis won the Mid-Week Stableford. Results: M Morgan-Davis (15) 41 points; P Middlebrough (18) 40; S Wilcock (8) 39. Jonathan Brook (3) 19 points won the nine-hole competition.