THORNBURY B were indebted to Janghier Hussain Shah and Mohammed Sudase as they won the Dales Council League's Cawthorne Cup final at Pudsey Congs.

The B Division leaders, who opted to bat, were 69-4 (Fez Hussain 22) before Shah (43) and Sudase (54) added 78 for the fifth wicket.

Then the innings looked to be stalling at 160-6 until Bilal Hussain (20no) added some lusty blows to take them to a challenging 194-8 off 40 overs (David Shepherd 2-19, Matthew Birkby 2-33).

After losing Simon Hogan early on, C Division promotion-chasing Tong Park Esholt C recovered to 45 before Junaid Ahmed fell for 23.

Worse was to follow as Hamza Rana and Asim Yasin got among the wickets as TPE slumped to 56-5.

Birkby and Andrew Barker dug in and took the score to 89 before Barker fell to Saad Qureshi.

Wickets then fell at regular intervals and, despite stubborn resistance from Birkby (24) and Neil Smith, they were bowled out for 127 after 34 overs.

Yasin (3-8 off six overs), Rana (3-34) and Mohammed Anwar (2-26) did well with the ball for Thornbury and the gap between the divisions was clear, but it was a spirited effort from Tong Park Esholt in a final that was played in the right manner.