JUST a year after winning the youth class at the Bob Owen Charity Trial, Keiran Child won the event outright on Saturday.

The 15-year-old Bradford rider beat off the challenge of some of the area's top competitors at Tong's Parkwood Offroad Centre.

His victory also gained him the top novice rider award in the event staged by the Horsforth Motor Club to commemorate the name of a former president of the Yorkshire Centre ACU who was also a well-known speedway referee and scrambler. Eleven-year-old East Keswick boy Harry Hemingway was also on a giant-slaying mission.

The youngster contested Class A Clubman, one step below the expert class, and won.

Bradford Motor Club treasurer Stephen Wilde won Clubman B from Mick Kettlewell and Mick Ward who headed the Over Sixties category.

Eleven young riders rode their own trial away from the main course where Silsden's Jonnie Fannon rode the hard route alone and won.

Hard course – Experts: Danny Gamble (Fantic) 36.

Inters: 1 Tom Rushton (Montesa) 40, 2 Anthony Ayrton (Beta) 72.

Novices: 1 Keiran Child (Beta) 20, 2 Jordan Potter (Gas Gas) 24, 3 Craig Potter (Beta) 56.

Youth Class A: 1 William Tolson (Beta) 36, 2 Jake Ely (Beta) 106, 3 Arron Carter (Beta) 109.

Youth Class B: 1 Charlie Smith (Beta) 39, 2 Edward Earle (Beta) 86, 3 Harvey Taglione (Gas Gas) 101.

Clubman A:

Novices: 1 Jack Dolan (Gas Gas) 3, 2 Paul Kettlwell (Sherco) 8, 3 Phillip Hammond Sherco) 10.

Over 50s: 1 Chris Laws (Beta) 8, 2 Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 17, 3 Mark Chippendale (Vertigo) 20.

Youth Class B: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 2, 2 Alice Minta (Beta) 24, 3 Elliott Laws (Beta) 24.

Clubman B:

Novices: 1 Stephen Wilde (Montesa) 3, 2 Simon Green TRS) 6, 3 Ian Brogen

(Beta) 8.

Over 60s: 1 Mick Kettlewell (Beta) 5, 2 Mick Ward (Beta) 5, 3 Steve Jackson

(Montesa) 6.

Pre-65: Steve Gossop (BSA) 5.

Youth Class B: Lucy Ayrton (Beta) 41.

Youth Class C: 1 George Hemingway (Beta) 12, 2 Freddie Stephenson (Beta) 39,

3 Aaron Sherwin (Beta) 47.

Small Wheels – Red route: Jonnie Fannon (Oset) 39.

Yellow route: 1 Harrison Lightfoot (Oset) 15, 2 Alfie Carney (Oset) 21, 3 Kai Fairhurst (Oset) 22.

White route: 1 Harrison Plant (Oset) 2, 2 Jack Pullan (Beta) 17, 3 Aiden Richardson (Oset) 34.

Manchester 17 M.C.C. Annual Northern Experts Trial, Wildboarclough, Saturday.

Leyburn joiner Richard Sadler won the Northern Experts Trial on Saturday from Birstsall motorcycle instructor Dan Thorpe and Scarborough's Michael Brown. Sadler rode his Acklam Beta 300 through nineteen of the twenty sections without penalty losing his only mark in the Plantation section group. Barnsley's Darren Wasley won the Clubman class while Buxtons's Andy Hipwell won the 50-50 route class from Healaugh's Katy Sunter Thorpe who matched her husband Dan's performance, and Huddersfield's Ian Haigh.