The Liberal Democrats and Conservatives have held onto their seats in North West Leeds in the local elections – but Ukip have made in-roads.

In Adel and Wharfedale Billy Flynn held the seat for the Conservatives with 3,018 votes against the 1,312 of his nearest rival Labour’s Mark Henley. Mr Flynn was fighting the election in place of long-standing councillor Clive Fox, who died in April.

The Conservatives also held onto power in Guiseley and Rawdon, where Councillor Pat Latty was re-elected with 2,811 votes. Labour’s David Bowe polled 1,871, and Ukip’s Roger Tattersall 1,444.

Harewood also saw Conservative success, with Matthew Robinson polling 3,542 votes. Ukip’s Peter Morgan came second with 1,176 votes.

Liberal Democrats Brian Cleasby and Ryk Downes were both re-elected to their wards. Councillor Cleasby polled 2,037 votes in Horsforth, with Conservative Richard O’Callaghan gaining second place with 1880, and Labour’s Rob Wilkinson 1644.

Councillor Downes polled 2,916 votes in Otley and Yeadon, where Carl Jones for the Labour party registered 1,916, and Tom Hollings 1,306 for Ukip.

Adel and Wharfedale had the highest turnout in Leeds, with 43.75 per cent voting – closely followed by Otley and Yeadon where the turnout was 43.65. The worst turnout in Leeds was City and Hunslet where a mere 22.84 per cent cast their votes.

Council Leader Keith Wakefield (Labour) was re-elected to his Kippax and Methley seat with 2,868 votes.

The overall political composition in Leeds is now Labour, 63 seats (no change); Conservative, 18 seats (no change); Lib Dem, 9 seats (down from 10); Morley Borough Independents, 5 seats (no change); Green, 3 seats (up from 2); Independent, 1 seat (no change).

Meanwhile, the Deputy Lord Mayor of Bradford and former Ilkley Parish Council chairman, Mike Gibbons, won more than 50 per vote of the vote to be returned to his Ilkley ward seat on Bradford Council.

The Conservative candidate received a total of 2,705 votes, more than 1,000 votes ahead of Labour candidate, Sandy Macpherson, who polled 1,303.

Councillor Gibbons is expected to become Lord Mayor of Bradford shortly.

Green Party candidate Brian Ford had 508 votes, Liberal Democrat Peter Ferguson polled 359, and there were 348 votes for Ukip’s Paul Latham. There was a turnout of 37 per cent.

The Conservative Party also retook a seat in the Wharfedale ward, previously held by Chris Greaves. Councillor Greaves, a former Conservative who went independent, did not stand for election.

Conservative candidate Gerald Barker won with 1,737 votes, although independent candidate and Menston Action Group campaigner, Steve Ellams, also gained strong support, polling 1,017 votes.

Labour’s Niccola Swan received 737 votes, Green Party candidate Janet Souyave 393 and Liberal Democrat Paul Treadwell 229.

Turnout in the Wharfedale ward, which takes in Burley-in-Wharfedale and Menston, was 44 per cent.

In the Craven ward, where two seats were being contested, following the death of Councillor Michael Kelly earlier this year, just 12 votes separated the two winning candidates.

Conservative, Andrew Mallinson, was returned to his seat with 1,864 votes, while independent candidate, Mayor of Silsden, Chris Atkinson, almost equalled him with 1,852 votes.

Addingham Parish Council chairman, Catherine Coates, who stood as an independent candidate, was third, with 1,478 votes, while the second Conservative candidate, Andrew Rowley, was fourth with 1,091 votes.

The voting means that Labour secured control of Bradford Council with an overall majority, now holding a total of 46 seats, the exact number.